Our Team

Cathy on TrailCathy McCollom founded McCollom Development Strategies in 2010. She has 35 years of experience in creating successful community development programs in Pennsylvania and Maryland. She launched the highly successful Trail Towns initiative in nine communities bordering the Great Allegheny Passage rail trail in 2007. In just over three years, 55 new or expanded businesses and over 200 new jobs were created through a concentrated regional business attraction strategy and marketing approach.

Prior to that initiative, Cathy managed multiple redevelopment initiatives and community revitalization programs as first the Director of Marketing and later Chief Programs Officer for the Pittsburgh History & Landmarks Foundation. During her tenure with Landmarks, she directed and managed the marketing program for Station Square, a popular and successful mixed-use development in downtown Pittsburgh. Cathy subsequently helped launch the Pittsburgh Downtown Partnership, supporting Pittsburgh business, positioning downtown Pittsburgh and creating a marketing approach for that organization.


KEntKent Edwardsis the Director of Operations and Project Management for McCollom Development Strategies. Kent is also the Principal of Edwards APQM, an architectural firm based in the Laurel Highlands region of Pennsylvania offering professional services in architectural design, project and quality management. In addition, he has served as a consulting Senior Associate with Perkins Eastman, a multi-national architecture, interior design and planning firm based in New York, NY.

Kent has 40 years of diversified experience in the design and construction industry, having managed and designed a wide range of projects in the community planning, hospitality, multi-family residential, commercial office, retail, institutional, religious, historical and education sectors. He has taught project management and design at Carnegie Mellon University and Youngstown State University and has traveled extensively on project assignments in the United Kingdom, Canada, Mexico and Peru.